I guess I should start with some sort of prologue of the year we all endured through, but I don’t care. As far as I’m concerned 2010 sucked in terms of music, most places do top 20’s (Rolling Stone has included some 2009 albums, to quote Rza on “So Appalled” “Fuckin’ Ricalous”). To summarize, I’m doing a top 10… and maybe a list of songs that were cool. Maybe.

10. Best Coast-Crazy For You

I fucks with some Best Coast… However the title they bestow upon the West Coast is dubious at best, everyone knows it goes down on the east coast. Bethany Cosentino is the lead signer for this LA based surf-rock band, and she lists her cat as one of her influences… Anyways… Here’s “Boyfriend”.

Best Coast-Boyfriend

9. The Naked & Famous-Passive Me, Aggressive You

There’s no secret I have the slightest crush on New Zealand’s Alisa Xayalith, she’s quite the sexy little kiwi. Seriously though, The Naked & Famous were my favourite new band in 2010 and Passive Me, Aggressive You is to blame… In addition to their pair of EPs No Light and This Machine. Check ’em out, if you haven’t done so already.

The Naked & Famous-Young Blood

8. Kate Nash-My Best Friend Is You

Ms. Nash is a fox too, but I digress. Her sophomore album was the one album in 2010 I was most looking forward to, not quite as good as her first effort though but good nonetheless.

Kate Nash-Do-Wah-Doo

7. Ellie Goulding-Lights

I swear I didn’t plan this, but Ellie is also one of my celeb crushes too. You would have known this had read previous posts on her, so there is no need for me to elaborate. Lights and Ellie were a big success across seas, so much so Bright Lights (a re-issue) was released not long ago.

Ellie Goulding-Wish I Stayed

6. The Black Keys-Brothers

And lastly for today is Brothers, by The Black Keys a duo composed of Dan Auerbach & Patrick Carney… who are not brothers at all. Which is why they didn’t crack the top 5, fucking liars.

The Black Keys-Howlin’ For You