We’re a week or so in to the new year, and I still have quite a while ’till I return to my respective institution of higher learning. So why not make another list that highlights the year that was, musically speaking.

20. Jack Johnson-At or With Me

I’m all about some Jack, and he doesn’t disappoint with this single. My one regret of 2010 was not going to see him at Merriweather Post Pavilion over the summer.

19. Wiz Khalifa-In Tha Cut

I still love this song, it reminds me of Springfest or whatever that thing was… I was too drunk, too early. I remember winning a fish playing beer pong & watching the episode of The Boondocks where Riley confronts Santa with intentions of making him pay what he owes.

18. Yolanda Be Cool & DCUP-We Speak No Americano

This song had to be included in the countdown, it’s quite the floor-filler and was even a Pittsburgh Pirates player’s introduction music at one point in the season.

17. Kanye West-All Of The Lights

Like I said during my albums countdown this song had the potential to be an all-timer, but at the 2:45 mark in the song 293 different artists hop on the track. It pisses me off, damn you Kanye West and your songs with two-zillion featured artists.

16. Ellie Goulding-Starry Eyed

I’ll be honest, I should have put this song in the top 10. I love Ellie Goulding and I can’t explain why, her music is enigmatic and so, so catchy.

15. Stromae-Alors On Danse (Remix) featuring Kanye West

“Wake up in Paris, with a Russian model”

14. Ray LaMontagne-Beg Steal or Borrow

I defy you to find an artist with a better voice, or better lyrical capability. You can’t.

13. Mumford & Sons-The Cave

This one recently came to my attention, while at home listening to the local radio station. The banjo is amazing, and the music video is even better. Check it out here, I wanted to post it earlier but it won’t allow embedded players. I respect that Sony Music.

12. Chiddy Bang-Bad Boy featuring Darwin Deez

I love this misogynistic rap. And I can’t wait to hear Chiddy Bang’s album and new mixtape due out in 2011.

11. Broken Bells-The High Road

Whoa, I’m not sure how Broken Bells’ eponymous debut didn’t make my top 10 of the year. Whoops.