This should come as no surprise but almost anything that involves M.I.A. is one of my guilty pleasures, anytime I think of good times her music is typically involved. Before going to school I would go skiing every now and then and that was around M.I.A. first gained notability with “Bucky Done Gun”. I don’t ski anymore but I still remember the fun road trips to Ski Liberty or Whitetail, and for some reason M.I.A.’s first single takes me back to those days.

“Bucky Done Gun” is a good song, but it’s not guilty pleasure choice for today. Today’s song actually reminds me of my favorite semester here at school, in fact the whole album does. I remember bumping Kala back when I lived by myself in Sowers and was pledging. Pledging wasn’t very fun in itself, in fact I’ve heard it referred to it being “…the best of times , [and] it was the worst of times.” I personally call it the most fun you’ll never want to have again. But there was more to those 5 months than just being in a state of constant misery, it was the semester I received a alcohol citation for “7 unopened cans of National Bohemian” in my fridge. It was the semester when my brothers and I sat outside in front of a tv and had some nattys boh’s watching opening day. It was the semester when I had a fake i.d., I was 5’10” and 29 (in reality I was 6’2″ and 20). It was a semester where much more happened, but I probably shouldn’t recall those memories so as to not get myself into trouble.

In short, here’s “Mango Pickle Down River”. I don’t why I like it so much, especially since I enjoy all the song other than “Paper Planes”.

M.I.A.-Mango Pickle Down River featuring The Wilcannia Mob