Let’s be honest here. I fucking hate Baltimore. It’s a bitch to drive into, parking is impossible, that shit is dirtier than Matt Cooke and the Ravens call it home. I just had to get that off my chest because the last 2 O’s games I’ve been have not been pleasant experiences, I blame Martin O’Malley.

Anyways Owings Mills is a suburb of Baltimore City and is the hometown of a band I used to really enjoy around 2007-2008 and then due to association I’ve refrained from listening to their music. Nothing against Dropout Year, I just try not to remember the girl their songs remind me of (as hard as that sounds).

And that’s the funny thing about music. In my iTunes I probably have around 100 or so songs, that I didn’t delete but I don’t listen to because I relate them to a certain time of my life. For the longest time I couldn’t listen to Dashboard, I loved Dashboard Confessional and I’m just now starting to get back into them.

As for Dropout Year, the two notable songs I’ve picked showcase the lyrical content of both sides. “Tire Swing Romance” reminds me of better times and on the other hand “Best Friends For Never” takes me back to the drama that ensued over the worst rum-filled semester of my life.

Dropout Year-Tire Swing Romance

Dropout Year-Best Friends For Never